July 31, 2006

I am alive, and I have stories

Posted in Life, Me at 7:03 am by mj

Just a note that I am alive. I am currently helping take care of my mother in Louisville. She’s doing fine after her second surgery, but she is in a lot of pain. She was freaked out about needing the second surgery. Not only was it demoralizing to come home for a week and then find out she needed another surgery, but she had an allergic reaction to the anesthetic used in her first surgery and almost didn’t wake up. (I’m sure that’s a bit inaccurate…I don’t claim to be medically literate. :))

And boy do I have stories to tell when I have time. 😉

At this point, I still plan on attending and blogging about SIGIR next week. More when I have time…

1 Comment »

  1. Lauren said,

    Hi – I just happened upon your blog, actually upon a really old entry regarding a stomach issue you had had. I was wondering if it would be possible for you to elaborate a little more on that issue? My best friend is currently going through a situation where she is constantly getting sick (nauseous, etc) after eating. She’s been to lots of doctors… food allergies have been ruled out, she’s had an MRI, now she’s going for a colonoscopy. They have no clue what the heck’s going on, and she is almost always ill after eating food as well. Your symptoms sounded similar from that entry. I don’t mean to pry, and I realize that this might be a hard thing for you to talk about, so no problem if you don’t want to. And I hope your Mom is ok!
    Thanks-
    Lauren


Leave a Reply

