July 5, 2008

I’m Alive; Or, How I Spent My Spring Non-Vacation

Posted in Me at 12:48 am by mj

As you almost undoubtedly know, American Greetings Interactive bought Webshots in October. Operational control transferred over to AGI in March, and with that switch, we lost a lot of talented people who had (to be politically correct about it) been lacking the tools to make Webshots what it should have been.

Most of them have landed on their feet and are doing well at start-ups of one stripe or another, or else taking time off to evaluate their next big thing.

As for me?

I’ve had maybe three full weeks in San Francisco since March.

In November, I accepted AGI’s offer of employment as an architect…in Cleveland.

Yinghua and I spent quite a bit of time meticulously calculating the move. There were certain assumptions about my position within the company, my career options, what the work would look like (would it be interesting?), what the team would look like, housing prices versus salary, quality of life, diversity of the food landscape, and so on, and so forth.

All of which was for naught because all the factors have changed.

There’s a lot of stuff I probably should not blog about, not least of which because some of it’s still in flux, but the most important change is that the position is now in Seattle.

As a result of all of this, I’ve been commuting between San Francisco and either Cleveland or Seattle. Thankfully, mostly I’ve been flying to Seattle.

Oh how I love love love Virgin America.

It’s been a great experience for me.

I’ve rediscovered my love of airplanes and airports. Many years ago, I considered jobs that involved a lot of travel. I was single, I was smoking crack (or something like that), and I loved observing people.

My health issues had made me claustrophobic and flying became quite stressful to me. But now I’m back to loving it.

Maybe it’s the cute, young, hip flight attendants at Virgin America? Or their delicious cuisine? (No, the flight attendants at Virgin America aren’t edible. Though that would be a good perk for their frequent flyer members!)

I’ve also had the opportunity to stay at some great hotels, and, until this month, it was all on the company’s dime. Who could ask for more?

So, yes, Virginia, I’m alive.

And, for this weekend at least, in San Francisco, with some time to relax (with my in-laws no less), start checking my e-mail (ahem), return some phone calls, …and, oh yeah, post to my blog. Which is the last item in priority, but the second I’ve taken action on (the first being relax!!!!).

2 Comments »

  1. […] Posted in Me at 4:22 am by mj I wrote this in July (!!) as a morning-after continuation on this update on my life. […]

  2. Sign: zdbrw Hello!!! wwvwa and 7526bdnmerhprd and 8104 : Cooooool blog really


Leave a Reply

