September 17, 2008

Shameless Promotion for my Shared Items

Posted in Software tagged , , , , , at 8:25 am by mj

I may not be writing much lately, but, thanks to Google Reader’s Offline Mode, I try to continue reading and adding to my shared items.

Unfortunately, I tend to sync at most once a week (except when I’m back in the Bay Area), so they tend to come in batches…and 3 weeks after the original post. It looks like the Reader team finally fixed the problem of only showing the sync time, though (except in my private view).

In today’s sync, I shared 24 items from 18 bloggers.

While some may go for quantity (ahem, Scoble, Digg), I only share things I’d want to read and refer to again…and which I’d prefer my whole team read, too.

Fortunately, the world is teeming with interestingness.

Some examples of things I’ve found interesting and shared recently:

Implementing Persistent Vectors in Scala.
Daniel Spiewak explains how immutable data structures can, nevertheless, be efficient even during writes. Perhaps the clearest example I’ve seen.

I still don’t claim to understand how multiple threads can share the same (changing) state without locking (perhaps something along the lines of Java’s ConcurrentHashMap, the code from which is well worth studying).

 

Shard Lessons.
Dan Pritchett shares his experience with database sharding. Worth it for the second lesson alone (“Use Math on Shard Counts”), where he explains why multiples of 12 are a more efficient scaling strategy.

 

Singletons are Pathological Liars.
Miško Hevery has been writing the clearest (bestest!) introductions to designing for unit testing that I have seen. They’re not really introductions so much as they are motivators.

You know the drill: you join a new team with a code base that’s been around seemingly since Pascal walked the Earth. Maybe everybody has heard of unit testing, but nobody really understands what it’s all about or why their singleton-ridden/new-operator-ridden existing code (or existing so-called “unit tests”) isn’t sufficient.

Don’t buy them a book. Point them to Miško Hevery‘s blog.

 

There’s more. (Much more.) There’s the excellent ongoing REST discussion involving Tim Bray, Dare, Dave Winer, Bill de hÓra, Damien Katz (and others); a lot of fantastic Drizzle commentary that go into mucho detail; discussions on edge cases and performance degradation in MySQL; and so on.

I wish I had a job that allowed me to just take what I’ve read and experiment with the ideas and contribute to some of the projects.

Yes, that would be an awesome job.

Leave a Reply

